Beautiful Barcelona blog

Once again, this blog is super late! I could go into a long list of excuses but I won’t bore you, other than to tell you I’ve been part of a rehabilitation programme at a hospital in London and I will be writing a medical update for those following my medical journey very soon!

Anyway, here is a photo story line of our recent travels to Barcelona, with our friend Ellena! Knowing Barcelona is the third most visited city in Europe (after London and Paris), I expected it to be a lot more packed than it was! I also wasn’t expecting it to be almost 36 degrees each day… I literally melted (courtesy to my ginger genes!)

The first photo of the trip always starts on the plane. Normally its a departure picture with bubbles but being so early in the morning I didn’t think it was socially acceptable to do this! So I snapped this instead- I love my husbands snooze face! I’m jealous of people who can fall asleep anywhere and everywhere but at least he was refreshed for when we arrived!!

Our first day was a little less than ideal due to a failed Air BnB host! We waited for 4 hours, got let in by a slightly dodgy looking neighbour, and then almost shouted at in Spanish, as the man “didn’t know we were there”… only to be let in to a dirty apartment. No worries though, I got straight online and booked us somewhere much more central, with air con, and half price! And yes, we did get a full refund! Here’s a photo of Ellena and I whilst waiting for the first place, melting in the heat!
img_5771

After our super long day, we had a shower and headed to the coolest vegan burger bar called CatBar. If you ever visit Barcelona, this place is a must, good priced, vegan food + craft beer! Ellena is vegan, so I made it my mission to suss out all the best vegan places – and I really enjoyed it! I think Elliot felt like a steak after a few days though 🙂

 

After our nice showers and full bellies, we headed on the Metro to the Magic Fountain Light Show. Oh my days, this is one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen!

 

This photo was taken on the first exploring morning, just outside our last minute accommodation! We couldn’t have asked for a better alternative, we were right next door to our baggage hold place, and 2 min walk from the tourist bus! Plus, we were around the corner from vegan ice cream, and look how cute the wee balconies are!

As we only had 2 full days in the city, we decided to make the most of our time and get the bus to take us between all the main attractions! Next time we go, I’d love to spend more time on the back streets, but I’m glad we got to see most of Barca this time! Plus, the wind from the open air double-decker was so refreshing!

The highlight of this trip, was our wee adventure to Tibidabo. After we started to walk up the mountain, we realised we had missed the sign for the Tramvia Blau which takes you half way up! I had my fingers and toes crossed that it would be worth our accidental hike in sweltering heat, and as soon as we reached the funicular train, I had decided it was worth it! It was such an entertaining journey as we went through the mountain’s forests, up to the summit on the strange tram/train thing. By the time we reached the top I was beyond speechless – magnificent views of the whole city! Not only this, but there is a vintage amusement park, which of course I made Elliot face his fear of heights to come on the old ferris wheel with me!

 

img_5952

Another highlight was definitely the iconic, but still unfinished, La Sagrada Família cathedral, which has been under construction since 1882. It was breathtaking walking through it, and seeing all the work that is still left. It was great to learn about the history of the building, and that Architect Francesc del Villar was the one who was actually first commissioned to design the church on that site. However, he resigned a year into the project, so Gaudi took over and completely revamped the design.

 

Other highlights included going to Park Güell, strolling down the manmade beach, Port Olympic, and walking up and down the whole 1.2 mile long Las Ramblas –a boulevard filled with tourists and locals.

 

Thanks to Amy and Jess’ recommendations, we had lots of great food finds! The first was the St Josef market of the main Las Ramblas! Cheap food, fruit and juices, and everyone was happy – lots of vegan options too! We had Mexican one night, and Elliot had a meat Spanish delicacy (I can’t tell you what it was sorry!) We also had sangria ice-cream. OMG where has that been all my life!

Another fave meal was brunch in Flax and Kale, a very hipster juice bar and cafe. All three of us ate amazing food, and it set us up nicely for our last day. Next time I’d like to go back in the evening and sit on the roof top bar!

We also had a great vegan gelato shop close to our accommodation in the gothic quarter, and found many cool cocktail bars!

 

The middle picture was actually a disgusting cocktail, which literally had so much salt in it! Note to self, do not buy expensive cocktails during Siesta time… I’d say the cocktail man was probably having a sleep!

So there you have it! The ups and downs of another short, sweet, cheap trip with the Radice-Skinners! Our next trip is for our joint birthday in December, where we are going to Amsterdam and Antwerp christmas markets! I think its safe to say I’ve caught the travel bug, but hey, life is short eh?

Until next time,

Keira xo

Leave a Reply

