A busy season 

Wow, it has been a long time since I last posted. There are so many things that have gone on, I don’t really know where to start.

In this time of no writing, we have had a particularly busy season; I have received my genetic results which have given me new medical diagnosis, we have traveled to Switzerland, Wales, Dublin, Budapest, Hong Kong, New Zealand and Fiji, I have a new job (or two) and have had two weddings (to the same person, don’t worry!)

I will come back to my much anticipated travel tip blog, and I will also do a wedding post once I receive professional photos from New Zealand! The photos we’ve received so far means the wait is so worth it – and we cannot wait to share some of them with you all!!

I want to say a special thank you to those of you who have been encouraging me to get back to my blog, it is a great way to keep everybody in the loop at once! Don’t worry, I’m aiming to post more frequently, so I don’t have to talk for Africa every time I write!

When I first started this blog I was in a complete season of change – being a new graduate, newly engaged and moving to the other side of the world. I also was coming out of a large period spent in hospitals/rehab and dealing with severe social anxiety, PTSD and a range of other issues. 18 months later, I am sitting in a completely different space (and not just physically!) – but I suppose I’d still call it a season of change.

I think one of the greatest challenges in life is to learn to love and be grateful for exactly where we are in life. Yes, to have dreams and goals, but to live for the day too, and be content with everything you have, even if you don’t feel like it is much. I went through a wee patch of always thinking “what if..” (What if I had more money, what if we didn’t move etc..) and another stage of hoping that I could stay in that period of time for a while longer without having to change.

Now however, I’ve come to learn that change is inevitable, and not always a bad thing. It is a way of life – and I am actually now more scared of staying the same. I aim to continue to grow as a person, in love, in faith and hopefully in wisdom too. To remember that I can learn from each and every stage of life – and not to panic when I am not exactly where I thought I’d be.

As some of you know, before I moved here I was keen to work in Marfan research. Although I still want to do this, I enjoyed taking a year out to look after myself, bringing my health up, getting closer to God and learning to love life more. I am so so blessed to have Elliot through my journey with me – he is my hero in this situation – always there to encourage me, cry with me, and just be there for me – whether that’s in the highs or lows. I’ll save the rest of the soppy stuff for the wedding post, but I can firmly say we are loving married life and can’t wait to continue facing whatever life throws at us together.

After we returned from our wedding trip to NZ, I decided I am well enough to go back to work. I have been nannying a lovely 10 year old girl a couple hours a day, and have now scored a great job with another family just down the road for mornings! I also love volunteering at our church youth group – and went on a camp with the teens this week. So with juggling social outings with family and friends, attending life group on Wednesdays, youth on Fridays and work twice a day, I have gone back to being as busy as ever.

Most importantly, is the fact that I love my life right now. I love living close to family here and seeing my beautiful cousins regularly, I love our friend network in MK and the rest of the U.K, I love speaking frequently to friends back in NZ, and I am even managing to love the cold weather (I know call me crazy, but a hot coffee whilst cuddled up with a book in a warm house on a frosty day is so relaxing!)

Where to from here is a big question – but I know God has got it all under control. After living in the UK for 3 years, I can go back to study – so whether I do research or something completely different we will have to see! I have a few hospital appointments coming up, so I will be able to fill you in on that front once I’ve been to them too! But for now, I am happy where I am, and in twenty years from now, I want to look back on this season of life and not be disappointed by opportunities I haven’t taken.  In laymans terms I want to do everything and anything I can, and live without regrets.

I’m going to sign off now and have a cocktail or two with Becky, my newest kiwi bestie who lives close to me here. I promise to write again soon!

Over and out

Keira xo

Ps here are a sneaky few photos from New Zealand – all photo credit to Rachel Walker ❤


  

4 thoughts on “A busy season 

  1. Hello, I hope I may comment, I’m only a ‘friend’ by proxy. Just wanted to say how much I’m looking forward to meeting you one day.
    I love the photograph of you and Elliot bib the road. A beautiful and original photograph.
    I wish you well and every happiness.
    Amelia’s Granny.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Amelia’s granny! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog!! Amelia and I will definitely be down to visit this year – or maybe we could all go for a girly day and show in London!! Much love to you, Keira xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

