Wonderful Winter Wanderings

So after my last post, I thought it was time for something a bit lighter; my first Europe travel post!

Although it was a short two day trip consisting of very few hours sleep, I came back feeling refreshed and my batteries recharged! I tell you, sometimes all you need is a breath of fresh air, a cute church service, old friends and some mulled wine to make all things well again.

My wee overseas adventure started with a lovely Sunday afternoon with the beautiful Olivia-Rose in London. We went to see the Philharmonic Orchestra play Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker… it was truly stunning! We were convinced one of the cellists had Marfan too… but we didn’t get to meet him to ask him afterwards!

IMG_3194IMG_3195

After the show we then went to a beautiful church service… I’m almost certain there were over 800 people there (and thats not a Keira over-exaggeration). It was the first service this year for singing carols, and mulled wine and mice pies after really made me feel in the Christmas spirit! Livi’s lovely cousin Jo then took us to the most amazing burger place for dinner.. it was so amazing I forgot to take a photo (it seems as if my photo taking skills have somewhat disappeared!) But all-in-all an amazing evening, and I was totally spoilt.

At 2.30am I then caught the night bus across London, to catch a train to catch my plane. I have to say I can’t really fault my 30 pound return flights… apart from the fact that they leave at silly times when the tubes aren’t open! I was so tired on the flight I slept the whole way to Basel, Switzerland, where I was greeted by the lovely Emma. Basel is on the Swiss, German and French borders… which blows my mind that you can nearly be in three places at once! The day looked a tad grim when I arrived (see photo below) but as soon as we left Switzerland and into France it was blue skies the whole way!

IMG_3212IMG_3220

Our next stop was in a beautiful old Alsace city called Colmar. To say that I was blown away by the beauty if this city is an understatement. I have forgotten about the amazing history that lies behind these cities, and I had never felt so Christmassy in my life…. until we hit Strasbourg (Where Em is living). Oh my. I still have no words. It literally is the Christmas Capital of the world, and legit one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen. There were SO so many amazing Christmas markets, and we even heard some cure carollers outside the cathedral.

IMG_3225me and em

We had a cute French meal and wine that evening… and didn’t get home until early hours of the morning… always a good indicator of great exploring! The following day consisted of more christmas markets (they never get boring!), yummy gaufres (waffles) and of course more mulled wine! After all, ’tis the season to be jolly!!  If you do ever get a chance to visit here though, bear in mind on a Monday night… most of the markets are actually closed… and don’t run for a different door on the train because it will leave without you!

A massive thank you to Emma for hosting me, I had SUCH a brill time, and loved having quality catch up sessions! You have a beautiful heart, and France is lucky to have you share that with them!

IMG_3224 Colmar

Well, it is now nearly midnight, and seen as I came ot bed for an early night I will sign off with much love to all of the people who are reading my messy musings- sort of- blog- thing. I have had great encouragement over the last week from people reading this, so I will continue writing!

Colmar2

With love and christmas blessings to you all, I leave you with one of my favourite quotes,

“To move, to breathe, to fly, to float, To gain all while you give, To roam the roads of lands remote, To travel is to live.” – Hans Christian Andersen

Bring on the next travel adventures!

Keira xo

Leave a Reply

